How to be a Sports Fan!

So, my boyfriend and my best friend love SPORTZ.

When I say they loves sports, I mean, they could leave their TV on ESPN & the Sports Center 24/7. I love that they are passionate about sports, but I must admit, I could generally care less about watching any ‘big game.’

I got a kick out of my Timehop app this morning when this 3 year old Twitter post popped up.

timehop.JPG

Recently, I’ve decided to let go of my sports ignorance by picking a team or two to pull for, and I must admit…it’s actually a LOT of fun AND I enjoy watching the games.

sports3

So how do you become a ‘Sports Fan’ when you really don’t give a damn?

  1. Pick your team(s). I recently moved to Charlotte. I’ve always kept up loosely with the Carolina Panthers, but recently, I decided they were going to be my team. I invested in two jerseys and some other team gear. I must say, having a cute team jersey to rock makes watching the games so much more fun (it also helps make for cute Instagram photos…just saying). 
  2. Watch the games. I’ve found that actually paying attention to the games (whether on tv or at a stadium) helps get you invested in the team’s success. If you can’t keep up with all the plays and rules, just pick a few players to focus on throughout the game, and cheer for them (I recommend pulling for the good looking ones like Luke Kuechly…what a babe)!
  3. Learn the rules of the game. Do not be the airhead who is asking “what is that yellow line that keeps moving on the field?” or “when is the halftime routine during the baseball game?” If you’re going to watch games in a social environment, don’t be THAT girl who knows nothing about the sport.
  4. Make a social event out of game day. The more people you watch the game with, the merrier. Try hosting a tailgating event or a game day party at your house. Serve some easy hors d’oeuvres and make some Panther Punch. Game day will soon be something you look forward to every week!

 

From one rookie SPORTZ fan to another, #KeepPounding.

Xx,

kate name

Leave a comment